Updating the Database Configuration

After a configuration is modified, it is usually required to update database configuration. To update the database configuration, select Configuration — Update Database Configuration.

When saving, the program analyzes changes to the configuration structure.

Syntax check for modules and uniqueness check for object names are carried prior to saving. A list of errors is displayed in the message window.

To update database configuration, exclusive access to infobase is required for the Designer.

When a database configuration update is attempted and there are sessions with this infobase (users work with it):

  • The Designer displays the infobase exceptional lock error if:
    • file-based variant, there are sessions that are directly connected to the infobase (without a web server), there are no sessions operating via a web server, configuration update requires database restructuring.
  • The Designer will prompt the user to close all sessions in the following cases:
    • if configuration update requires database restructuring;
    • if web clients or thin clients operate the file-based infobase via a web server;
  • In all the other cases the Designer will prompt the user for dynamic update.

If all the sessions need to be closed in order to update database configuration, the Designer will display the message that will read something like this:

"Infobase exceptional lock error
Exceptional lock of the infobase cannot be performed due to existing sessions:
computer: comp, session: 7, started: 22.06.2009 at 16:11:53, application: Thin client
Closing sessions will result in disorderly close-down for all the infobase users
Cancel / Try again / Close all sessions and try again"

If more than 5 sessions are active, only the number of such sessions will be displayed in the message.

If the user selects Close all sessions and try again, the following warning will be displayed:

"Closing sessions will result in disorderly close-down for users!
Are you sure you want to close all sessions?
Yes / No"

If the user clicks Yes, all the infobase sessions but the current one will be attempted to close. After that database configuration will be saved again. Closing all sessions will result in disorderly close-down of all the client applications. In some situations a session cannot be closed. In this case database configuration can be updated later or you can restart the working process that contains the frozen session.


If any objects have been added, deleted, or edited, a dialog box is displayed showing a list of changes for confirmation. To confirm the Save operation, click the Accept button, otherwise use the Reject button to cancel saving. In either case, the configuration remains open, and you can continue working.

1C:Enterprise Developer's Community